Galway takes over Mayo to decide Connacht League


Mayo 0-13 Galway 0-17

Galway emerged as a convincing four-point winner over Mayo to secure a place in the final of the decisive FBD Connacht League game after a heated semi-final at the Connacht GAA NUI Air Dome in Bekan on Friday night.

The introduction of Shane Walsh was a key factor in rocking the game for the Tribesmen, who had a bit more of a physical advantage for them in the season opener for both teams.

Mayo was just one point behind at the start of the final 15 minutes and looked close to colluding, but Galway used his pace and power to secure a deserved victory over his neighbors.

Mayo had two points on the board after just four minutes thanks to Fergal Boland and one of Mayo’s five debutants, Sam Callinan, finding the target. But it was Galway who gradually started to take control and they entered the break with a well-deserved three-point lead, 0-10 to 0-7 – Damien Comer with two games, Paul Conroy, Matthew Tierney and Johnny Heaney hitting a few. good scores in a lively first half.

MAYO: R. Byrne; D McHugh, P O’Hora, S Callinan (0-1); P Durcan, M Plunkett, E McLaughlin; CO Shea, J Flynn; F Boland (0-2), D O’Connor, F Irwin (0-1); J Healy, F Duffy (0-4, four francs), J Mahon.

Subscribers: R Brickenden for Plunkett, P Heneghan for Healy, RO Donoghue (0-5, four free) for Mahon (all m / t), S Coen for Durcan, D Coen for Callinan.

GALWAY: C Flaherty; J Glynn, S Fitzgerald, L Silke; J Heaney (0-2), D McHugh, C McDaid; N Daly, M Tierney (0-2, a 45); C McWalter, P Conroy (0-3, two free), F O’Laoi; R Finnerty (0-3, three free), D Comer (0-2), D Conneely (0-1, free).

Subscribers: T Culhane (0-1) for Conneely, T Gill for McDaid, J McLoughlin for Daly (all h / t), S Walsh (0-2, one free, one point) for Comer (40), P Kelly (0 – 1) for McWalter (45) J McGrath for Silke, L Costello for Tierney (both 50).

Arbitrator: J Gilmartin (Sligo).


About Author

Comments are closed.